Museum Park

in progress
Address: 3/4 Novaya Square, Moscow Client: OAO MINITEP, Polytechnic Museum Development Fund Development team Directors: Dmitry Likin, Oleg Shapiro Senior project architect: Mikhail Kozlov, Anton Razinkov Architects: Maria Khokhlova, Anastasia Rychkova, Anton Sevastyanov, Igor Yakovlev, Marina Yarmarkina, Denis Manshilin, Alyona Zaitseva, Margarita Leonova Design: 2015 – 2016 Construction: 2017 Site area: 14 000 m²


In the contemporary city, the museum long since ceased to be simply a place for storing exhibits, school trips and the “cultural leisure” of adults on their days off. It should be a full-fledged participant in urban life, able to compete on equal terms with parks, cinemas and restaurants. Museum Park (‘Muzeiny Park’) is a pedestrian zone and public space that will help draw city dwellers into the Polytechnic Museum.

Objective:

As part of the concept by the Japanese architect Junya Ishigami, the territory around the Polytechnic Museum is to be transformed into Museum Park – a well thought out public space, whose structure answers the needs of the Museum and its visitors, as well as intensive transport and pedestrian flows, and the requirements of the city authorities with regard to streets and town squares.

Solution:

A park-amphitheatre will appear in front of the Museum, an open-air foyer that will become an extension of the spaces inside the building, to which it will form a prologue. It will be able to host events while uniting the new pedestrian zone in the building’s basement level with the outdoor area alongside Lubyanka Square, attracting pedestrians and providing them with a convenient and pleasant route into the Museum complex.

In 2011, the Polytechnic Museum Development Fund held an international competition for the concept for the reconstruction of the historical premises on Novaya Square. The Jury select the effective and bold proposal of the Japanese architect and artist Junya Ishigami. His fundamental idea was to activate the semi-subterranean basement level of the Museum by inclining the ground level around the building, planting the slopes produced and internal courtyard spaces with trees. As a result, a park would be formed both within and around the Museum, increasing the total area to 12 000 m². However, this proposal would have had to be reconciled with the urban planning and transport situation around the building, making it compatible with the underground communications plan as well as the general programme for the reconstruction of public spaces in the city centre.

 

A comprehensive investigation was carried out on behalf of the Polytechnic Museum of the territory around the building, its transport situation and main directions of pedestrian flow. The suggested development of Ishigami’s concept linked the Metro exits, Museum building entrances, routes followed by both Polytechnic Museum visitors and regular pedestrians, transport flows, and the logistical requirements of the Museum. A public space and communications node then emerged with access to the Museum, through-access to neighbouring garden squares, and from which pedestrians could visit adjoining cafés and galleries. The key element of the scheme came to be the square and garden area beside the exits from the Metro, which unites the Museum’s basement level with the city.

 

The layout of adjacent streets and the organisation of road traffic on them then had to be reviewed jointly with specialists from the Moscow City Department of Transport. Painstaking calculations on the various possible scenarios indicated that Lubyansky Proyezd could be reconstructed, closing Polytekhnichesky Proyezd to traffic and considerably narrowing the roadway alongside Novaya Square.

 

This made possible the organisation of the square in front of the Museum, on the level of its basement. This square would be accessed from the below-ground subway through the garden square currently separated from the Museum by the roadway of Polytekhnichesky Proyezd. The project foresees the square and the garden square areas becoming a single space.

 

The differences in level play out in the form of a gigantic amphitheatre, descending in steps from the garden square to the square beside the Museum. The Museum can be accessed from this level and over a pedestrian bridge or from the direction of Lubyanka Square, where a new entrance has been organised from the below-ground level into the Polytechnic’s new educational and cultural centre, set up around the Grand Lecture hall that achieved renown in the 1960s with its poetic recitals. The hall and rooms around it are being set aside as a separate complex in the Museum, to specialise in varied public events, including lectures, discussions and concerts. This part of the Museum can be accessed from both below and from street level by means of a pedestrian bridge.

Thanks to the reduced number of lanes along Novaya Square, two pedestrian routes are being set out along the facade of the Polytechnic Museum: one on the level of the below-ground “Museum Square”, and one forming a 6 metre wide pavement at street level, separated from the first by trees and planting.

The below-ground street will not be left without greenery either: a ‘vertical’ garden of specially selected plants is to be arranged on its slopes. The width of this street is 5 metres. It goes in parallel with the Museum facade and has arcades opening onto it from its basement level. Here will be located shops, cafés and galleries. From this area, visitors will be able to make their way onto Museum Square or into the Metro.

The entire subterranean level is roofed over and provided with heating and a reinforced storm drain to enable the comfortable use of this space even in winter.

Музейный парк

в работе
Адрес: Москва, Новая площадь, 3/4
Заказчик: ОАО МНИИТЭП, Фонд развития Политехнического музея
Авторский коллектив
Руководители: Дмитрий Ликин, Олег Шапиро
Главный архитектор проекта: Михаил Козлов, Антон Разиньков
Архитекторы: Мария Хохлова, Анастасия Рычкова, Антон Севастьянов, Игорь Яковлев. Марина Ярмаркина, Денис Маншилин, Алена Зайцева, Маргарита Леонова
Проектирование: 2015 – 2016 гг.
Строительство: 2017 гг.
Площадь территории: 14 000 кв.м


Музей в современном городе — уже давно не просто место для хранения экспонатов, школьных экскурсий и «культурного досуга» взрослых в выходной день. Он должен быть полноправным участником городской жизни, на равных конкурировать с парками, кинотеатрами, ресторанами. Политехническому музею поможет привлечь горожан пешеходная зона и общественное пространство — «Музейный парк».

Задача:

В рамках развития концепции японского архитектора Джунья Ишигами территории вокруг Политехнического музея должны превратиться в «Музейный парк» — продуманное общественное пространство, в структуре которого учтены нужды музея и его посетителей, интенсивные транспортные и пешеходные потоки, требования городских властей к площадям и улицам.

Решение:

Перед музеем появится парк-амфитеатр, фойе на открытом воздухе, которое станет продолжением пространств внутри здания — и прологом к ним. Здесь можно будет проводить мероприятия, эта зона соединит новое пешеходное пространство в подземном уровне, сквер рядом с Лубянской площадью, привлечет пешеходов и сделает для них легким и привлекательным путь в музейный комплекс.

В 2011 году Фонд развития Политехнического музея провел международный конкурс на концепцию реконструкции исторического здания на Новой площади. Жюри выбрало эффектное и смелое предложение японского архитектора и художника Джунья Ишигами. Его основная идея — задействовать цокольный, полуподземный этаж музея, опустив уровень земли вокруг здания, засадив деревьями возникающие откосы и пространство внутренних дворов. В результате внутри и вокруг музея возникал парк, а общая площадь увеличивалась на 12 тысяч квадратных метров. Однако это предложение требовалось увязать с градостроительной и транспортной ситуацией вокруг здания, схемой подземных коммуникаций, а также с программой реконструкции общественных пространств в центре города.

По поручению Политехнического музея было проведено всестороннее исследование территории, прилегающей застройки, транспортной ситуации и основных пешеходных потоков. Предложенное развитие концепции Ишигами связывает выходы из метро, входы в здание, маршруты посетителей Политеха и просто гуляющих горожан, транспортные потоки, логистические потребности музея. Возникает общественное пространство и коммуникационный узел, из которого можно войти в музей, пройти через подземные переходы к ближайшим станциям метро, выйти в соседние скверы или посетить кафе или галереи. Ключевым элементом схемы стала площадь и сквер у выходов из метро, которые соединяют бывший подвальный уровнь музея и город.

Совместно со специалистами Департамента транспорта города Москвы пришлось пересмотреть трассировку прилегающих улиц и схему организации автомобильного движения по ним. Тщательные расчеты возможных вариантов показали, что может быть реконструирован Лубянский проезд, закрыто движение по Политехническому проезду и существенно сужена проезжая часть на Новой площади.

Благодаря этому можно организовать площадь перед музеем, которая находится на уровне подземного этажа. Путь к площади от подземного перехода лежит через сквер, который сейчас отрезан от музея Политехническим проездом. В проекте площадь и сквер становятся одним пространством.

Перепады уровней обыгрываются как гигантский амфитеатр, который ступенями спускается от сквера к площади. Войти в музей можно с этого уровня, а можно — через пешеходный мост или со стороны Лубянской площади, где организован новый вход с подземного уровня в образовательно-культурный центр, центром которого станет знаменитая по выступлениям поэтов в 60-е годы прошлого века Большая аудитория Политехнического музея. Зал и помещения вокруг него выделяются в отдельный комплекс внутри музея, который будет специализироваться на различных публичных мероприятиях: лекциях, дискуссиях, концертах. В эту часть музея можно войти как снизу, так и с уровня улицы через пешеходный мост.

За счет сокращения количества полос на Новой площади, вдоль фасада Политехнического музея прокладываются два пешеходных прохода: один в уровне подземной «Музейной площади», а второй, фактически – это широкий тротуар шириной 6 метров, в уровне улицы, но отделенный от нее деревьями и озеленением.

Подземная улица также не останется без зелени: на пологом откосе будет разбит «вертикальный» сад из специально подобранных растений. Ширина этой улицы составляет 5 метров. Она идет параллельно фасаду музея и в нее выходят открытые аркады его цокольного этажа. Здесь расположены магазины, кафе и галереи. Отсюда также можно выйти на «Музейную площадь» или пройти в метро.

Покрытие всего подземного уровня будет сделано с подогревом и усиленной ливневой канализацией, что позволит комфортно использовать это пространство даже в зимнее время.