Revitalization of the historical center of Tula

project
Address: Tula
Client: OOO "Tulskaya Naberezhnaya"
Studio directors: Dmitry Likin and Oleg Shapiro
Leading architect: Mikhail Kozlov
Architects: Maria Khokhlova, Anastasia Izmakova, Anna Karneeva, Marina Pakhomova, Kristina Rykova, Jan Freese
Specialist of the Master Plan section: Nina Smirnova, Alexandra Nikulnikova, Lyubov Peretokina
Chief project engineer: Alexey Zhirkov, Alexey Pavlov
Landscape architecture: Natureform
Project manager: Svetlana Salushcheva

Total area: 14.4 hectares
Area of water bodies: 1.4 hectares
Green area: 6.2 hectares
Building area: 0.07 hectares

Project: Complex public design of the Kremlin (Kazan embankment)
Construction: 2017-2018


The Kazan embankment by the Tula Kremlin was a closed industrial zone for several centuries which has practically turned into an abandoned territory, a black hole in the very heart of the city. In 2018, as a result of renovation, the historical part of Tula is set to turn into a cultural centre interesting for residents and tourists.

Objective:

To revitalise the historical part of the city: to use the potential of the embankment as much as possible and find key functions for the city centre surrounding it in order to significantly increase the quality of the urban environment. Propose simple, but fundamentally new scenarios for the residents thanks to which 15 hectares of land will transform from a poorly organized territory into a welcoming public space.

Solution:

In order to understand how a territory three times as big as the Tula Kremlin functions, it is necessary to revise the strategy of its use. The long embankment cannot exist separately to the rest of the city: the walking route along the former river-bed of the Upa river becomes a part of the new system of pedestrian areas with several semantic centres - a museum quarter, a pedestrian street with shops and cafes and also the Kremlin territory which is becoming more accessible due to a new entrance.

 
Reconstruction project

Reconstruction project

Park near the Kremlin walls
The territory of the embankment with a total area of 12 hectares was used by the Tula arms factory for a long time and was closed for residents. Now it is back to the fabric of the city.
The new life of the embankment had been started with cleaning and filling the former river-bed with water, cleaning the territory from weeds and chaotically built maintenance buildings. A landscape park is designed on the bank of the Upa river with easy access to the water and pedestrian bridges.
Walking zones, a cafe, a summer stage, children's and sports areas is located between the river and the Kremlin wall. The new embankment became a recreational zone of a city-wide significance, a place for fun, walking, city-wide events and seasonal fairs. The embankment has finally opened another entry to the Tula Kremlin.

Reconstruction project

Krestovozdvizhenskaya square - a pedestrian area

The square became a self-sufficient centre of attraction for residents and visitors of the city, a sort of open foyer of the museum complex of the Tula Kremlin and the museum quarter on Metallistov street.
The entrance to the Kremlin from the side of the square is restored and equipped for people with disabilities so as to meet all modern requirements.

Krestovozdvizhenskaya square - a pedestrian area
 
Krestovozdvizhenskaya square - a pedestrian area

New look of Metallistov Street

Metallistov Street, the former Pyatnitskaya Street, is one of the oldest streets in the city. In the XVIII century it was among the first streets to be paved, but today it is not in the best condition and ended up on the periphery of urban events.
Now the entire street is pedestrian with the possibility of passing special-purpose motor vehicles. All dilapidated communications are renewed to create conditions for the existence of the future museum quarter.
The street is filled with a large number of architectural monuments of the XIXth century. They are now being restored and the street, along with the Tula Kremlin, became an important symbol of the city and a new tourist and recreational city centre

New look of Metallistov Street

Reducing transport load

In order to open the central part of the city for residents, the transport scheme are changed: the traffic streams from the Metallistov street are redirected to nearby streets. This decision is justified by a research which showed that the amount of traffic in the city centre will be decreasing in the coming years due to a new bridge.

Reducing transport load

Transforming the museum quarter

The museum quarter is one of the most interesting points of the renovated centre. Representatives of the Tula region museums will form the base of the quarter. The ground floors of the other buildings were supposed to be occupied by shops and cafes, educational facilities, hotels and offices above.
Now cultural institutions are finishing with construction, but before that inner spaces and courtyards were improved, these are places for children activities, additional exhibitions and special events. Do the reconstruction of the main streets in the quarter caused some local initiatives and projects that make the city vibrant

Тульская набережная

концепция
Адрес: г.Тула
Заказчик: ООО "Тульская набережная"
Руководители бюро: Дмитрий Ликин, Олег Шапиро
Архитекторы: Михаил Козлов (ведущий арх), Мария Хохлова, Анастасия Измакова, Анна Карнеева, Марина Пахомова, Кристина Рыкова, Ян Фриз
Специалист раздела Генплан: Нина Смирнова, Александра Никульникова, Любовь Перетокина
ГИП: Алексей Жирков, Алексей Павлов
Менеджер проекта: Светлана Салущева

Общая площадь: 14,4 га
Площадь водоемов: 1,4 га
Площадь озеленения: 6,2 га
Площадь застройки (павильоны): 0,07 га

Проект: Комплексное благоустройство общественного пространства Кремлевской (Казанской набережной)
Строительство: 2017-2018


Казанская набережная у стен Тульского кремля несколько веков была закрытой заводской зоной, которая в последние двадцать лет превратилась в практически заброшенную территорию, черную дыру в самом сердце города. В 2018 году в результате обновления историческая часть Тулы должна превратиться в культурный центр, интересный для горожан и туристов.

Задача:

Регенерировать историческую часть города: по максимуму использовать потенциал городской набережной и найти якорные функции для окружающего ее центра, чтобы существенно повысить качество городской среды. Предложить простые, но при этом принципиально новые сценарии для горожан, благодаря которым 15 гектар земли из плохо организованной территории превратится в приветливое общественное пространство.

Решение:

Чтобы придумать, как работает территория, размер которой втрое больше Тульского кремля, необходимо пересмотреть стратегию ее использования. Протяженная набережная не может существовать отдельно от остального города: прогулочная полоса вдоль старицы (старого русла, превратившегося в ручеек) реки Упы становится частью новой системы пешеходных территорий, на которых появляется несколько смысловых центров – музейный квартал, пешеходная улица с магазинами и кафе, а также территория кремля, которая становится более доступной, благодаря появлению нового входа.

План Благоустройства

План Благоустройства

Проект реконструкции

Парк у стен кремля
Территория набережной площадью в 12 гектар долгое время находилась в пользовании у Тульского оружейного завода и была закрыта от жителей. Теперь она возвращается в ткань города.
Новая жизнь набережной начнется очистки и наполнения водой русла старицы, расчистки территории от сорняков и хаотичных хозяйственных построек. На берегу старицы Упы будет раскинут ландшафтный парк с удобным выходом к воде и пешеходными мостами.
Между рекой и кремлевской стеной будут располагаться прогулочные зоны, кафе, летняя сцена, детские и спортивные площадки. Новая набережная станет рекреационной зоной общегородского значения, местом отдыха, прогулок, проведения общегородских мероприятий и сезонных ярмарок. С набережной откроется еще один вход в Тульский кремль.

Проект реконструкции

Крестовоздвиженская площадь – пешеходная территория

Площадь станет самодостаточным центром притяжения для жителей и гостей города, своего рода открытым фойе музейного комплекса Тульского кремля и музейного квартала на улице Металлистов.
Вход в кремль со стороны площади будет отреставрирован и оборудован для доступа маломобильных граждан так, чтобы отвечать всем современным требованиям.

Крестовоздвиженская площадь – пешеходная территория

Новый облик улицы Металлистов

Улица Металлистов, бывшая Пятницкая – одна из старейших улиц города. В XVIII веке она была замощена в числе первых, но сегодня находится не в лучшем состоянии, оказавшись на периферии городских событий.
После обновления улица превратится в пешеходную с возможностью проезда спецтранспорта. Все ветхие коммуникации будут перекладываться, чтобы создать условия для существования будущего музейного квартала.
На улице сосредоточено большое количество памятников архитектуры XIX века: они будут отреставрированы, и улица, наряду с Тульским кремлем, станет важным символом города и новым туристическо-рекреационным городским центром.

Новый облик улицы Металлистов

Снижение транспортной нагрузки

Чтобы открыть центральную часть города для пешеходов, схема транспортного движения будет изменена: потоки автомобилей с улицы Металлистов направят на близлежащие улицы. Обоснованность этого решения подтверждает исследование, показавшее, что в ближайшие годы количество транспорта в центре будет снижаться благодаря появлению нового моста.
Новые пешеходные связи, возникающие благодаря проекту, сделают центр города более доступным и удобным для туристов и жителей.

Новый облик улицы Металлистов

Преобразование музейного квартала

Музейный квартал – одна из самых интересных точек обновленного центра. Основу квартала составят представительства музеев Тульской области. Первые этажи остальных зданий займут кафе и магазины, выше появятся образовательные учреждения, гостиницы, служебные помещения.
Благоустроенные дворы, открытые для прохода пешеходов, свяжут улицу Металлистов и набережную. Эти внутренние пространства будут работать как дополнительные выставочные, событийные, образовательные площадки. Квартал станет главной точкой притяжения для инвесторов, среднего и малого бизнеса и сделает историческую часть города обитаемой и интересной.

Преобразование музейного квартала