Strelka

realized
Address: 14 Bersenevskaya embankment, bldg.5a, Moscow, Russia
Client: Strelka NPO; Strelka LLC
Design period: June 2009 – May 2010
Construction period: August 2009 – May 2010
Heads of construction: Dmitry Lakin and Oleg Shapiro
Lead architects: Olga Rokal, Anastasia Rychkova, Galina Serebryakova
Photographers: Sergey Leontev, Ilya Ivanov
Awards:
- Laureate of Arch Biennale 2010 in the ‘Best New Place’ category
- Laureate ARCHIWOOD 2011 in the ‘Design of the Urban Environment’ category

скачать PDF

This unique public space was constructed by Wowhaus Bureau to replace the garages of the Red October confectionery factory on the intersection of the Bolotnaya Island. In this location, where the Institute for architects and designers, a bar with a popular summer terrace and an open–air hall naturally co-exist, lectures, film screenings, yoga classes, parties and many other events take place.

Objective:

To create a space of a new typology, a ‘third space’ that is a mixture between home and work/study.

Solution:

A cosy square, with a courtyard atmosphere, consisting of two combined amphitheatres. One facing the water that people can sit on to relax, and one for the guests of events at the newly established piazza.

Functional plan

- Auditoriums
- Inhabited fence
- Bar
- Terrace
- Public area

Public area

View of Strelka from Patriarch Bridge.

The main visual dominant in the Strelka courtyard’s space is a wooden amphitheatre on a metal frame.

In the evenings, the courtyard is transformed into a popular open-air cinema.

The lobby at Strelka: on the left is the institute’s information centre and ticket office, in the centre is the staircase to the terrace, and on the right is the entrance to the bar.

Inhabited fence

Plan

To define the courtyard and expand its functional possibilities, a new construction tentatively called the ‘inhabited fence’ was built along one of its walls. The bulk of this multifunctional building, which houses the information centre, public lavatories, a summer kiosk with food and drinks, a plasma screen, and subsidiary rooms, is made from sandwich panels. This is the most comfortable and least expensive material for foundation-less framed structures. In order to maintain the courtyard’s general theme, the top of the building appears to be wearing a collection of wooden slats.

View of the front of the ‘fence’

The information centre is located at the end of the building, behind a glass wall. This is the place to get information on events, sign up for public seminars and lectures, and buy tickets.

Auditoriums

The institute’s auditoriums and studios are located where the factory garages used to be. For several years these were artists’ studios with a mezzanine. Our main goal was to adapt the premises to the needs of an institute of learning by providing as much natural light as possible, a comfortable layout of furniture for studying, and customized office equipment.

In some auditoriums, skylights were constructed. In order to take full advantage of the available area, a large amount of customized furniture was designed, and lights were also used along the busducts.

Bar

Bar Strelka is a comfortable urban space and platform for relaxed socialising built on the frames of the Strelka Institute of architecture and design. The bar is located in a building of the former Red October chocolate factory and partly in some former art galleries.

Many details of the interior were predetermined by the building itself. For example, the combination of metal channels and wooden bracing on the ceiling arose from the need to strengthen its structure for the construction of the roof terrace. In order to increase the height of the ceiling, the builders decided to leave them open. The same applies to the metal construction on the walls.

The interior was designed so that a feeling of history would be present in the bar – as if it had always been there. A preference was accordingly given to points of interest, Italian and Scandinavian lights from the 1960s and 1970s, and natural materials that are aging beautifully.

Many objects were found at flea markets or at second-hand furniture auctions, and what was impossible to find we designed ourselves.

Terrace

The summer terrace at Strelka is located on the roof of a former sweet shop. Our designers and builders did a great job with this. Because of the building’s old age and position on an unstable river bank, there was a serious limitation to how big a load it could bear. The designers came up with a way to replace the rafter system with a more modern one, and the load of the wall even decreased as a result. In addition, the whole building received an elegant sheath made of channels that serve to reinforce the structure.

Right after opening, 2010

The terrace, three levels away from the river and the amphitheatre combined with the courtyard.

 

Summer 2011

The following season, it was decided to re-furnish the terrace. Bright furniture, coloured countertops and light fittings were set up.

The chairs were ordered from Italy and Belgium and we devised and produced the tables, floor lighting and lampshades ourselves.

The terrace in 2011. Nighttime view from Patriarch Bridge.

Floor plans

Plan of the ground-floor

Plan of the terrace level


Almost all furniture was designed in-house especially for Strelka, such as the striped tables and lamps.

Стрелка

реализовано
Адрес: Берсеневская наб., 14 стр.5а, Москва, Россия
Заказчик: АНО «Стрелка», ООО «Стрелка»
Срок проектирования: июнь 2009 – май 2010
Срок строительства: август 2009 – май 2010
Руководители бюро: Дмитрий Ликин, Олег Шапиро
Ведущие архитекторы: Ольга Рокаль, Анастасия Рычкова, Галина Серебрякова
Фотографии: Сергей Леонтьев, Илья Иванов
Награды:
— лауреат «Арх-биеннале-2010» в номинации «Лучшее новое место»
— лауреат «АрхиWood-2011» в номинации «Дизайн городской среды»


Специально для стрелки в бюро разработали почти всю мебель. Например, полосатые столы и светильники.


скачать PDF

Весной 2010 года на месте бывших гаражей кондитерской фабрики «Красный октябрь» открылось уникальное для Москвы общественное пространство. Здесь органично сосуществуют институт для архитекторов и дизайнеров, бар с популярной летней террасой и двор под открытым небом, где проходят лекции, кинопоказы, занятия йогой, вечеринки и др.

Задача:

Спроектировать пространство новой типологии, «третье место» между домом и работой.

Решение:

Мы создали уютную площадь, которая воспринимается как двор, и соединили два амфитеатра. Один рассчитан на посетителей бара и открыт к воде; другой — для аудитории публичной программы «Стрелки» — развернут к площади.

- Аудитории
- Обитаемый забор
- Бар
- Терраса
- Общественное пространство

Общественное пространство

Вид на «Стрелку» с Патриаршего моста.

Главная визуальная доминанта двора «Стрелки» — деревянный амфитеатр на металлическом каркасе. Его устройство позволило расширить подсобные помещения и создать удобные места для публики.

По вечерам двор превращается в кинотеатр под открытым небом.

Входная группа «Стрелки». Слева — информационный центр института и билетная касса, по центру — лестница на террасу, справа — вход в бар.

Обитаемый забор

Схема

Чтобы замкнуть контур двора и расширить его функции, вдоль одной стены был построен так называемый «обитаемый забор». Это многофункциональное строение, внутри которого находятся информационный центр, общественные санузлы, летний киоск с едой и напитками, плазменный экран и подсобные помещения. Основной объем выполнен из сэндвич-панелей, удобного и недорогого материала. Сверху все облицовано деревянными рейками в общем стиле двора.

Вид на фасад «забора».

С торца здания за стеклянной стеной должен был появиться информационный центр, где можно узнать расписание программ, записаться на лекцию, купить билеты на мероприятие. Сейчас здесь книжный магазин, а всю информацию о программах «Стрелки» можно узнать на сайте института.

Аудитории

Аудитории института расположились на месте бывших гаражей фабрики, где позже были мастерские художников. Эти помещения требовали максимального естественного света. Кроме того, их объем должен был позволить легко расставить учебную мебель и специальную оргтехнику.

В некоторых аудиториях сделаны мансардные окна. Мебель спроектирована таким образом, чтобы рационально использовать пространство.

Бар

Бар Strelka частично расположен в здании бывшего кондитерского магазина «Красный октябрь», а частично — в бывших галереях художников.

Многие детали интерьера предопределены зданием. Например, металлические швеллеры с деревянными раскосами на потолке появились из-за необходимости укрепить потолочные конструкции перед устройством на крыше летней веранды. Чтобы не снижать высоту потолка, конструкции решили оставить открытыми. То же касается стен.

Интерьер «Стрелки» вызывает ощущение, будто это место существовало всегда. Предпочтение отдавалось итальянскому и скандинавскому свету 1960–1970-х годов и натуральным материалам, которые красиво стареют.

Многие предметы мебели найдены на блошиных рынках или куплены на аукционах подержанной мебели. То, что не получилось найти, мы сделали сами.

Терраса

Летняя терраса бара устроена на месте крыши бывшего кондитерского магазина. Так как здание старое и стоит на берегу реки на плывущем грунте, существовало серьезное ограничение нагрузки на несущие конструкции здания. Наши конструкторы придумали, как заменить стропильную систему на более современную, и в результате нагрузка на стены даже уменьшилась. Кроме этого, здание получило изящную оплетку из швеллеров, укрепивших конструкции.

Сразу после открытия. 2010г.

Трехуровневая терраса спускается к реке и амфитеатром объединена с двором.

 

Летом 2011 года

В следующий сезон было решено изменить стилистику интерьера террасы. Появилась яркая пластиковая мебель, цветные столешницы и светильники.

Стулья заказали в Италии и Бельгии, а столы, напольные светильники и абажуры придумали и изготовили сами.

2011 год. Ночной вид на террасу с Патриаршего моста.

План комплекса на уровне земли

План комплекса на уровне террасы