Fireworks Festival

realized
Address: Brateevsky cascade park, Moscow, Russia
Client: ROSTECH International Fireworks Festival

Development team
Studio directors: Dmitry Likin, Oleg Shapiro
Chief architect of the project: Eduard Rusenko
Lead architects: Anastasia Izmakova

Architects: Nina Stepina, Alina Malysheva, Kristina Rykova, Ekaterina Kovbashina, Sofya Zhukova, Alina Rakhmatullina, Ekaterina Sporykhina

Project: 2017
Construction: 2017


In the summer of 2017 ROSTECH held an international fireworks festival in the Brateevsky cascade park: for two days the park turned into a playground for holiday festivities. In addition to the fireworks show, a large-scale program was launched in the park which included architectural installations.

Objective:

To make flagship and iconic objects for the festival event which would divide the territory into different themed zones, served as guides for visitors and at the same time would offer them a variety of recreation.

Solution:

The young architects of the studio, graduates of the third group of interns under the supervision of lead architect of the studio Anastasia Izmakova came up with the idea of Moscow on the Seven Hills. The symbol of each hill was intentionally chosen from non-obvious associations to preserve the mystery of the place which the visitor would have to find inside the installation. A talk by Philipp Smirnov, a historian on Moscow, helped define each symbol.
As a hint, each object has a description explaining the historical context of the place.

 

Explanatory notes:
Each installation has a function associated with the historical context of the hill, and in this case, is thematically conditioned by the corresponding zone of the park: the water fountain is next to the food court, the Shvivaya hill next to the craft zone, and one can watch a movie on the Sretensky hill.

 

BOROVITSKY HILL

The most notable object gives a direct reference to the main Moscow landmarks situated on the Borovitsky hill: the red installation is built as a square behind an abstract fence resembling a burr or a crenellated wall. Huge twelve-meter swings are placed in the centre, which can be used standing up.

 
 
 
 
 
 
SHVIVAYA HILL

The hill received its name in honour of the weavers who lived in this part of the city (on Taganskaya Hill), therefore the symbol of the place was a tower with a vertical loom inside. Five looms with different coloured threads were placed inside the five-pointed star base: an original canvas could be created by anyone on each side by using a shuttle and an additional 'right' rail. The image of the loom is emphasized by decorative threads stretched between the rails.
 
 
 
 
 
 
STRASTNOY HILL

Movement became the allegory for the hill where Tverskaya Street originates: in 1820 the first diligences went to Tverskaya, in 1872 the first horse-tram was built, later turned into tramways, and in the 1930s several buildings were moved with the expansion of the street. The first film studio in the country was located here:
for the festival, it all turned into a 25-meter route: a platform with built-in rails makes it possible to move seating boxes deeper inside the installation which is completed with a projection of the Tverskaya street perspective view. The backlight used in all objects turned into an artistic gesture hinting both at the nature of cinema and street illumination.
 
 
 
 
SRETENSKY HILL

Historically, the Sretensky hill was connected with water: there was a large drinking fountain. There was a large public samovar at the nearby market: a tea-party served as a rite, closing major transactions.
Thus, the symbol of the place was a fountain made of interlacing coloured pipes: the illuminated water circulates throughout the facility and is discharged to the tank using cranes, from which the pipes are then refilled. Since the citizens bought food on the Sretensky hill, the proximity of the fountain with the park food court turned out to be very natural.
 
 
 
 
 
PSKOVSKY HILL

Choosing from significant milestones of the Pskovsky Hill - a major trading area, a Jewish ghetto, an English farmstead, we settled on the Soviet biography of this place: the 8th Stalin skyscraper was planned to be constructed right here and later one of the largest hotels in the world, Rossiya, was built on the foundation of the never-completed project. The significant structure was 250 meters long and 150 meters wide, while the main block reached a height of 50 meters.
A relative model of the hotel in a 1:10 scale became the symbol of the Pskovsky Hill: a light wooden structure with a courtyard and a high tower which served as a chill-out zone with hammocks and soft puffs.
 
 
 
 
 
IVANOVSKAYA HILL

The history of the Ivanovskaya hill is associated with music. In 1837, the organ was played for the very first time in the Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral.
It is the image of the musical instrument that formed the basis for the installation. The range of vertical metal pipes of different sizes - a giant organ - produces outlandish sounds: thanks to the stereo effects, each cylinder represents a certain musical instrument and creates its own acoustic environment. There is a xylophone, a harp, a bell, a metallophone, wind instruments, a music box, a disco pipe, a trunk pipe and a sound-absorbing trumpet of silence.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SPARROW HILLS

Observations on the Sparrow Hills refer to the construction and engineering achievements associated with the construction of the main building of the Moscow State University, built in the Soviet era. The enormous scale of construction is demonstrated by a star on a spire, reaching the size of 7.5 meters.
It was this star that formed the basis for the installation: a tower of several tiers is formed by a seven-meter star raised vertically several times with a turn. The resulting design resembles the structure of a DNA, referring to the scientific activities of the University. When inside the object, one can see a star in its real size at the bottom of the tower, and a smaller copy above.

Фестиваль фейерверков

реализовано
Адрес: Братеевский каскадный парк, Москва, Россия
Заказчик: Международный фестиваль фейерверков «РОСТЕХ»

Авторский коллектив
Руководители: Дмитрий Ликин, Олег Шапиро Главный архитектор проекта: Эдуард Русенко Ведущие архитекторы: Анастасия Измакова
Архитекторы: Нина Степина, Алина Малышева, Кристина Рыкова, Екатерина Ковбашина, Софья Жукова, Алина Рахматуллина, Екатерина Спорыхина

Проект: 2017
Строительство: 2017


Летом 2017 года в Братеевском каскадном парке проходил международный фестиваль фейерверков от компании «Ростех»: на два дня парк превратился в площадку для праздничных гуляний. Кроме шоу салютов в парке развернулась масштабная программа, частью которой стали архитектурные инсталляции.

Задача:

Сделать на время фестиваля знаковые и яркие объекты, которые делили бы территорию на разные тематические зоны, служили ориентиром для посетителей и одновременно предлагали бы им разнообразный досуг.

Решение:

Молодые архитекторы бюро, выпускники третьего потока интернатуры, под руководством ведущего архитектора бюро Анастасии Измаковой придумали инсталляции на тему «Москва на семи холмах». Символ каждого холма намеренно был выбран из неочевидных ассоциаций, чтобы сохранить загадку места, которую посетитель должен отыскать внутри инсталляций. Найти каждый образ помогла лекция москвоведа Филиппа Смирнова.
В качестве подсказки каждый объект имеет описание, объясняющее исторический контекст места.

 

Подписи-пояснения:
Каждая инсталляция имеет функцию, связанную с историческим контекстом холма, и при этом тематически обусловлена соответствующей зоной парка: так, водоразборный фонтан находится рядом с фудкортом, Швивая горка рядом с ремесленной зоной, а на Сретенском холме можно посмотреть кино.

 

БОРОВИЦКИЙ ХОЛМ

Самый заметный объект дает прямую отсылку к главным московским достопримечательностям, стоящим на Боровицком холме: красная инсталляция построена как площадь за абстрактной оградой, напоминающей бор или зубчатую стену. В центре поместились огромные двенадцатиметровые качели, прокатиться на которых можно стоя.

 
 
 
 
 
 
ШВИВАЯ ГОРКА

Холм получил свое название в честь ткачей (швецов), живших в этой части города (на Таганском холме), поэтому символом места стала башня с вертикальным ткацким станком внутри. В основание-пятиконечную звезду поместились пять станков с разноцветными нитями: на каждой стороне можно было создать собственное полотно с помощью челнока и дополнительной «правой» рейки. Образ ткацкого станка подчеркивают декоративные нити, натянутые между рейками.
 
 
 
 
 
 
СТРАСТНОЙ ХОЛМ

Аллегорией холма, на котором берет свое начало Тверская улица, стало движение: в 1820 году по Тверской пошли первые дилижансы, в 1872 была проложена первая конка, позже превратившаяся в трамвайные пути, а в 1930-е при расширении улицы было передвинуто несколько зданий. Здесь же располагалась первая в стране киностудия.
Для фестиваля все это превратилось в путь длиной в 25 метров: платформа со встроенными рельсами позволяет перемещать боксы для сидения в глубь инсталляции, которую завершает проекция с перспективой Тверской улицы. Подсветка, использованная во всех объектах, здесь превратилась в художественный прием, намекающий и на природу кинематографа, и на уличную иллюминацию.
 
 
 
 
СРЕТЕНСКИЙ ХОЛМ

Исторически Сретенский холм был связан с водой: там располагался большой питьевой фонтан. На рынке поблизости находился большой общественный самовар: чаепитие служило обрядом, завершающим крупные сделки.
Так символом места стал фонтан из переплетения цветных труб: подсвеченная вода циркулирует по всему объекту и с помощью кранов выпускается в резервуар, из которого затем трубы наполняются снова. Поскольку на Сретенском холме горожане покупали пищу, соседство фонтана с парковым фудкортом оказалось очень закономерным.
 
 
 
 
 
ПСКОВСКАЯ ГОРКА

Выбирая из важных исторических вех Псковской горки – крупный торговый район, еврейское гетто, английское подворье, – мы остановились на советской биографии этого места: здесь планировалось возведение 8-й сталинской высотки, а затем на фундаменте так и не законченного проекта появилась одна из самых больших гостиниц в мире – «Россия». Знаковое для столицы сооружение составляло 250 метров в длину и 150 в ширину, а высота основного блока была равна 50 метрам.
Символом Псковской горки стал условный «макет» гостиницы в масштабе 1:10: проницаемая деревянная структура с двором и высокой башней, которая служит зоной отдыха с гамаками и мягкими пуфами.
 
 
 
 
 
ИВАНОВСКАЯ ГОРКА

История Ивановской горки связана с музыкой. В 1837 году здесь впервые зазвучал орган в кафедральном соборе Святых Петра и Павла.
Именно образ музыкального инструмента лег в основу инсталляции. Череда вертикальных металлических труб разного масштаба – гигантский орган – издает диковинные звуки: благодаря стереоэффектам каждый цилиндр олицетворяет определенный музыкальный инструмент и создает собственную акустическую среду. Здесь есть ксилофон, арфа, колокол, металлофон, духовые, музыкальная шкатулка, диско-труба, переговорная труба и звукопоглощающая труба тишины.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ВОРОБЬЕВЫ ГОРЫ

Размышления о Воробьевых горах отсылают к строительным и инженерным достижениям, связанным с возведением главного здания МГУ, построенного в советское время. Космический масштаб строительства демонстрирует звезда на шпиле, размер которой равен 7,5 метрам.
Именно эта звезда легла в основу инсталляции: башня из нескольких ярусов образована семиметровой звездой, несколько раз поднятой по вертикали с поворотом. Получившаяся конструкция напоминает структуру ДНК, отсылающую к научной деятельности Университета. Попадая внутрь объекта, можно увидеть звезду реального размера в основании башни, а подняв голову – ее уменьшенную копию.