Krasnogvardeisky Ponds

realized
Address: Moscow, Krasnogvardeisky boulevard, 1A
Client: State Autonomous Institution of Culture of Moscow Krasnaya Presnya Park
Studio directors: Dmitry Likin and Oleg Shapiro
Architects: lead architect Daria Melnik; architects: Victoria Kudryavtseva, Maria Gulida, Anna Rodionova, Maria Panova, Bella Filatova
Specialist of the Master Plan section: Nina Smirnova, with the participation of Alexandra Nikulnikova
Chief project engineer: Dmitry Belostotsky

Total area: 83 512.5 sq.m.
Area of water bodies: 25 066 sq.m.
Green area: 39 348.24 sq. m.
Building area: 1 318.8 sq.m

Project: 2015-2016
Construction: 2016-2017

Awards:
Archiwood Award 2018 for Urban Design according to popular vote


Objective:

Krasnogvardeisky ponds are a historical continuation of the main territory of the Krasnaya Presnya Park. Merging these two parks into a single system led to an integrated development programme based on a broad social and urban research. Preserving the existing structure and landscape of the Krasnogvardeisky ponds parks as much as possible, required for a comfortable family type and active recreation space to be created.

Solution:

KB23 conducted a sociological research which formed the basis for the concept. The research made it possible to accurately balance the recreational functions and format based on feedback by the residents of nearby buildings as the site is first and foremost perceived as a secluded inner courtyard. By preserving the existing structure of the park and complementing it with new infrastructure and recreational format it was possible to emphasize the individual character of the recreational zone and increase the quality of urban and architectural design as well as comfort and safety.

 

The territory of the Krasnogvardeisky ponds is stretched from the Zvenigotodsky highway on the north to the 1st Krasnogvardeisky driveway on the south and includes a cascade of three interconnected ponds. The ponds were formed back in the early XVIII century as a part of the princes Gagarin Studenets estate park ensemble. The territory acquired its present form in the late 50s of the XX century during the development of the boulevard.
Wowhaus created a development project for the Krasnogvardeisky ponds territory and their natural integration with the Krasnaya Presnya Park using a general navigation, design identity, design codes for new objects and infrastructure.
All objects incorporate a common design of soaring structures with lightweight grid elements, the colour scheme is also unified and consists of red, anthracite-coloured and the colour of natural wood. Particular attention was paid to the additional landscaping of the territory. Perennial plants were added to the existing fabric of greenery designed to emphasize the natural beauty of the Krasnogvardeisky ponds and also create a missing middle tier consisting of various shrubs and plants specially selected for this area.
Following the historical structure of the park and the overall design, the proximity of residential buildings and important urban elements the site can be divided into five fragments each of which has its own character and is designed taking into account a specific dominant function. At the same time, the holistic perception of all the elements is preserved thanks to the general design of objects and greenery.

Fragment 1 - from the Zvenigorodsky highway to the upper pond a 'family sports and educational park' is located.
The structure of this part of the park is the most 'wild' and has a forest-like feel. The task of the project was to preserve this feeling of a 'natural' character of the space by including the necessary areas and objects. The plants for this fragment are selected given the natural character of the greenery.

Special attention in this fragment was paid to the entrance zone from the side of Zvenigorodsky highway. It was important to focus the attention on the park and its new design, therefore, the architects designed an entrance group complex integrated into the new fencing of the territory and consisting of two pavilions with a light structural pergola.
 

The concept of this part of the Krasnogvardeisky ponds is also based around the idea of a 'secret garden' - a walking route with objects and observation platforms situated along it. Street exercise equipment, workout areas, table tennis, a yoga pavilion, and also an original children's playground with treehouses and high-rope courses are located here.

Fragment 2 - upper pond - 'wild' or contemplative pond. A multi-level deck with planters was created on the pond bank, and duck houses were installed on the water.

Fragment 3 - from the upper pond to the middle pond - the central part situated between the ponds carries the traditional design of classical regular parks. Various-shaped platforms with chess pavilions are situated on the axis of the central alley and are organically integrated into the landscape among the flower beds with benches situated on the sides. The historical structure of the path and route network is preserved. The existing local landmark - a monument to October Days which bears a strong significance for all the residents of the neighbourhood is relocated to a platform which best matches its scale and sits closer to the upper pond. A small cafe with an amphitheatre and a dance floor will be built in its place.
 
 

Fragment 4 (middle pond) - 'romantic pond'. A logical continuation of the promenade zone with the gazebos above water, the deck and the decorative sphere-shaped lighting along the slopes of the pond and the water surface.

Fragment 5 incorporates the lower pond and is situated on the other side of the Shmitovsky driveway which somewhat complicates its integration into the general ensemble. We proposed to turn the disadvantage into an advantage and centre all the loud sports and entertainment functions here, on a site which is situated at a maximum distance from residential buildings. In addition to the paddle-boat rental and a small cafe, a floating stage will be built right above the pond for summer concerts and festivals with an amphitheatre for 150 seats situated opposite - the visiting card of the park. The nearby bank is equipped with a big sun-bed deck.

Красногвардейские пруды

реализовано
Адрес: Москва, Красногвардейский бульвар, 1А
Заказчик: ГАУК г. Москвы ПКиО «Красная Пресня»
Руководители бюро: Дмитрий Ликин и Олег Шапиро
Архитекторы: ведущий архитектор Дарья Мельник; архитекторы: Виктория Кудрявцева, Мария Гулида, Анна Родионова, Мария Панова, Белла Филатова
Специалист раздела Генплан: Нина Смирнова, при участии Александры Никульниковой
ГИП: Дмитрий Белостоцкий

Общая площадь: 83 512,5 кв.м.
Площадь водоемов: 25 066 кв.м.
Площадь озеленения: 39 348,24 кв.м.
Площадь застройки (павильоны): 1 318,8 кв. м.

Проект: 2015-2016
Строительство: 2016-2017


Задача:

Красногвардейские пруды являются историческим продолжением основной территории парка «Красная Пресня». Объединение в одну систему этих двух парков стало поводом для разработки комплексной программы развития, основанной на масштабном социально-градостроительном исследовании. При максимальном сохранении сложившейся структуры и ландшафта парка Красногвардейских прудов требовалось создание комфортного пространства для семейного и активного отдыха.

Решение:

Созданию концепции предшествовало социологическое исследование, подготовленное бюро КБ23. Оно позволило правильно распределить функции и формат досуга, основываясь на пожеланиях жителей прилегающих домов, так как прежде всего данная территория воспринимается как камерное «дворовое пространство». Сохраняя существующую структуру парка и корректно дополняя ее новой инфраструктурой и рекреационными форматами, удалось подчеркнуть индивидуальность зоны отдыха и добиться повышения средового и архитектурного качества, а также комфорта и безопасности отдыха.

 

Территория Красногвардейских прудов вытянута от Звенигородского шоссе на севере, до 1-ого Красногвардейского проезда на юге и включает в себя каскад из трех сообщающихся между собой водоемов. Пруды были созданы еще в начале XVIII века, как часть паркового ансамбля усадьбы «Студенец» князей Гагариных. Свой нынешний вид территория приобрела в конце 50-х годов ХХ века при обустройстве бульвара.
Бюро Wowhaus разработало проект развития территории Красногвардейских прудов и ее органичного объединения с парком «Красная Пресня» посредством общей навигации, фирменного стиля, дизайн-кода новых объектов и инфраструктуры.
Все объекты выполнены в единой стилистике парящих конструкций с легкими решетчатыми элементами, цветовая схема также едина – это оттенки красного, антрацитового и естественной древесины. Особое внимание уделили дополнительному озеленению территории. В уже сложившуюся ткань зеленых насаждений добавлены многолетние растения, призванные подчеркнуть природную красоту Красногвардейских прудов, а также создать недостающий средний ярус, состоящий из различных кустарников и растений, специально подобранных для этой территории.
В соответствии с исторически сложившейся структурой парка и стилистикой пространства, а также близостью жилых домов и важных градообразующих объектов, территорию условно можно разделить на пять фрагментов, каждый из которых имеет свой характер и благоустраивается с расчетом на определенную доминантную функцию. При этом сохраняется единое восприятие всех фрагментов, благодаря общей стилистике объектов и озеленения.

Фрагмент 1 - от Звенигородского шоссе до верхнего пруда- «семейный спортивно-познавательный парк».
По структуре эта часть парка наиболее «дикая» - имеет вид естественной лесистой части, задачей проекта было сохранить это ощущение «естественности» пространства, включив в него при этом необходимые площадки и объекты. Растения для этого фрагмента подобраны с учетом естественного характера озеленения.

Особое внимание в этом фрагменте было уделено входной зоне со стороны Звенигородского шоссе. Важно было акцентировать внимание на парке и его новом оформлении, и с этой целью архитекторами был спроектирован комплекс входной группы, интегрированный в новое ограждение территории, и состоящий из двух павильонов с легкой структурной перголой.
 

Также в основе концепции этой части Красногвардейских прудов лежит идея «секретного сада» - прогулочного маршрута, вдоль которого размещены объекты и видовые площадки. Здесь расположены уличные тренажеры, площадки для воркаута, игры в настольный теннис, павильон для занятий йогой, а также большая уникальная детская площадка с домиками на деревьях и веревочным парком.

Фрагмент 2 - верхний пруд - «дикий» или созерцательный пруд. На берегу пруда появится многоярусный настил с кадками для растений, а на водной глади - домики для уток.

Фрагмент 3 -от верхнего пруда до среднего- – центральная часть, расположенная между прудами, решена в традициях классических регулярных парков. На оси центральной аллеи расположены площадки разных форм с шахматным павильоном и зонами для настольных игр, органично вписанными в ландшафт среди цветников по сторонам от центральной аллеи – скамейки. Исторически сложившаяся структура дорожно тропиночной сети сохраняется. Существующая местная достопримечательность – памятник «Октябрьские дни», который дорог всем жителям района, переносится на более сомасштабную ему площадку ближе к верхнему пруду. На его месте будет построено небольшое кафе с амфитеатром и площадкой для танцев.
 
 

Фрагмент 4 (средний пруд) - «романтический пруд» логическое продолжение променадной зоны с беседками над водой, настилом, лодочным павильоном и с декоративным освещением в виде сфер по склонам пруда и водной глади.

Фрагмент 5 включает в себя нижний пруд и находится по другую сторону Шмитовского проезда, что несколько осложняет его включение в общий ансамбль. Архитекторы предложили превратить недостаток в преимущество и сосредоточить здесь, на максимально удаленном от жилья расстоянии все шумные спортивно-развлекательные функции. Кроме пункта проката катамаранов и небольшого кафе, прямо над прудом будет построена плавучая сцена для проведения летних концертов и фестивалей, напротив которой появиться амфитеатр на 150 мест, что станет визитной карточкой парка. А на соседнем берегу будет оборудован большой настил-солярий.